Skip to content

On Loss In The Military Family

August 13, 2011

I walked into work today with no expectations of anything other than an unremarkable first day back in the shop after having been on leave. And unremarkable it was, until I got blindsided with the list of names from the SEAL helo that went down in Afghanistan. There on the page, glaring at me in harsh reality was a name I knew.

No, it couldn’t be. But his picture confirmed it. Here was an undeniable cold, hard fact; someone I knew has been lost.

I reeled at the knowledge, quickly putting the list down when a couple other names triggered familiarity. This couldn’t be real. He couldn’t be dead. He’s only a few months older than me, too fucking young for this.

My community aches with his loss, as we ache for the loss of every one of our own. This one hits me hard because of the personal connection and because I’ve lost more than one of my brothers and sisters recently that touched my life. For us, they are always with us and irreplaceable.

This isn’t my first, nor will it be my last loss of a friend. I can only hope that their families take comfort in knowing that their chosen family will always pour out love and support for our brothers and sisters and the ones they loved.

Fair Winds and Following Seas Brother. We have the watch.

From → Military Life

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

